Soil types in Lower Austria - the 20 NÖ district soil maps


A team consisting of representatives from the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (Prof. Walter Wenzel), the Federal Office for Water Management (Dr. Peter Strauss, Dr. Rosemarie Hösl) and the Federal Office for Forestry (E. Leitgeb, G. Aust, M. English) in 2012, from the data of the Austrian Soil Map 1: 25.000 and other sources, a comprehensive soil map for Lower Austria was presented for the first time, which takes into account not only agricultural soils but also forest soils.
Now this card was edited under the direction of Dr. Peter Strauss for all districts of Lower Austria and supplemented with additional information and typical floor pictures.
On October 13, 2016, Prof. Walter Wenzel presented the District Soil Maps for the first time as part of the agricultural district directorial conference at the University and Research Center Tulln (UFT). Using the example of the soil map of the district of Tulln, Prof. Wenzel was able to explain the importance of our soil resources for sustainable development and pointed to the versatility of the district soil maps commissioned by the agricultural district authority of Lower Austria for raising awareness and informing citizens.


Below you will find the general explanation, the individual district soil maps, as well as the NÖ soil map as pdf-files for download:


General explanation

District Amstetten & Waidhofen an der Ybbs

District Baden

District Bruck an der Leitha

District Gänserndorf

District Gmünd

District Hollabrunn

District Horn

District Korneuburg

District Krems and Krems Land

District Lilienfeld

District Melk

District Mistelbach

District Mödling and Vienna Area

District Neunkirchen, Wiener Neustadt and Wiener Neustadt Land

District St. Pölten and St. Pölten Land

District Scheibbs

District Tulln

District Waidhofen an der Thaya

District Zwettl

Soil map Lower Austria